Annual General Meeting

Once again, the AGM was held at the Chequers. The meeting included the usual formalities with the accounts and elections, and the new committee was unanimously elected as follows:

President: Dan Unwin
Treasurer: Richard Spraggett
Secretary: Andrew McLay
Committee: Sarah Davies (Webmaster), Martin Butler, Marion Foster, Keyna Garner, Dave Hall, Bob Hotchkis, Richard North, Claire White

The meeting included discussion of items such as hiring the Waterside Centre climbing wall for Club use and the importance of mountain etiquette, after which the meeting was closed and dinner was served.

After dinner the President’s speech ran through the events of the year. The Club ran a number of successful trips and events in 2007, most of which have been written up in last year’s Journal.

Dan then presented the following awards:

Best Trip: Claire White, for Slovenia.
Absolute Altitude Award: Simon Pike.
Cumulative Altitude Award: Sue James.
Navigation Award: Keyna Garner, for some interesting summer walks…
Mountaineering Achievement: Bob Hotchkis, for leading Puig de Campana in Spain.
Most Trips Award (for most meets attended during the year): Bruce Wilson, again – once more and we’ll have to name the award after him…
Most Committed Climber: Callum Ings, for all the time he’s put in at the Waterside Centre.
The Gordon Ramsay Award (for amazing cuisine on a Club trip): Martin Butler, for the bunny rabbit paella at Black Sail.
The Escapology Award: Maggie Russell, for falling out of bed numerous times on Club trips.

The evening continued with music and a slide show of some of the year’s photos.

Sarah Davies

Related Images:

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.